Sunday, August 19, 2012

A Day in the Life of Fancy Nancy

Day 19 of the August Blogger Challenge and Fitness Cheerleader has us talking about our typical day.  Now there are a few factors that I need to mention before I explain a typical day to you.  First, I'm a teacher...and one that intentionally does not have a summer job except for 1 week where I teach a course at my alma mater (last week).  I love the summer to be able to be home with Em and connect so a typical day for us is much different depending on the season.  Second, in just 7 weeks (yup sooo not ready but that's a whole other post) we will be welcoming another little lady into our life and I fully expect "typical" is going to change for a while!  That being is a day in the life of this working momma!
Typical Work Day
4:15am - wake up and give myself the gym pep talk
5am - gym time
6am - shower and get ready faster than a speeding bullet (usually because once I woke up at the gym I realized I would rather be there then heading to work!
6:40am - out the door for work
7:20am - my first high school student stumbles in usually half asleep (they have no idea how good they have it to be able to sleep all they want!)
7:20am-2:30pm - I travel between classrooms and schools (3 schools) team teaching and teaching small groups to my students
3pm - pick up Em from Daycare (this year it will be preschool-Even less ready for that!)
3-5:30pm - This time is usually when Em and I do something fun together (park, run, paint, visit my aunt, play outside, etc.) but it is also the time that I have to get any emergency errands done and get dinner started.
5:30ish - hubby comes home!
5:30-7:30 - family time with dinner
7:30pm - Em's bath and bed (much later in the summer.....I mean come on it's summer!)
After Em is in bed the hubs and I usually veg out for a few hours on the couch...I typically fall asleep on the couch!  There are a few days a week where I go back to the gym or he goes to the gym if he couldn't fit it in during the day.  

I know what you're thinking....Wow she has such an exciting life!!!  Ha!!!  During the school year it is like Groundhog Day which is both why I try to plan lots of fun things in the afternoon with Em and why I LOVE the summer.  Now it's your turn....
What does your typical day look like?
Best of luck to all you racers out there!!  I know a lot of you are racing RNR Providence...go out and rock that city!!!


  1. My days are so different depending on how much work I have to do. I may work at home on my phone and computer from 7-7 or I might not work at all if I have nothing to get done. I also volunteer at two hospitals so two mornings a week I will be there. Basically I'm really unpredictable!

    I think it's great that you make so much time for family in the afternoon and evenings as well as time for yourself to hit the gym in the morning.

  2. oof. my days are about to change. My kids begin a new school much farther away, and I will be spending a lot more time playing chofer. So I don't know what a typical day will be like but I have been anxious about this for a couple of weeks and am ready to get it started!

  3. Wow, you have a busy day! I don't know how you do it all! I can barely make time for the things I want to do and it's just me! My typical day is work, run, make food, eat, get lunch ready for the next day, read blogs, bed. It's totally groundhog day as well!

  4. work days I don't typically run but I do try to fit in a short 12-20 minute HIIT workout as soon as I get home once or twice a week, or if I get off early and the weather is nice I try to run 3 or 4 miles. I am usually in bed by 9 and up at 4:45.

  5. Sounds very similar to mine! The life of a teacher... :)

  6. youve inspired me to do mine.
    which may cause IMMEDIATE SLEEP in my readers.


  7. I need a nap now. And you've done that all while being pregnant. Super hero!

    Good luck with the last weeks of your pregnancy.

  8. YOu get up at 4:15 - wow!! That is amazing! My day:
    5:30 get up
    5:30-6:30 make coffee, watch news, read blogs, slowly wake up
    6:30-7: get ready for work
    7: leave for work
    6pm: come home from work
    6-7: run or drive to BF's house
    7-8: shower and dinner
    8-9:30: tv and reading